My Mother- First Time.....

the daughter
the daughter Member Posts: 33
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting and the first time I open my lap top to research Breast Cancer. My mom was diagnosed with breast cancer this past Friday. Jan. 12th we find out what stage- they believe its possibly Stage 2B or 3A (praying for 2B). I dont even know where to begin...

My mother doesnt speak very good English- she trusts doctors and I know when we go Wednesday- and we have to make a decision on treatment- she will go with whatver they recommend. I need ot be strong and informed- please help.

They found the cancer in her left breat- nothing on the right- . They are recommending chemo before surgery- then surgery- then chemo/radiation afterwards. I didnt even know radiation therapy and chemo were two different things. I dont know if we should put her through chemo first?

My mom- as most women is into fashion and her BEAUTIFUL hair is one of her many prides- how can we avoid hair loss?

We are still in a bit of denial- but I am tryig to prepare. My mom is 52 and we are praying...

Any advice will mean the world to me...

All My Love,
Jessica- Houston, TX

Comments

• Boppy_of_6
    Boppy_of_6 Member Posts: 1,138
    Welcome
    Welcome to the site Jessica. I am sorry your Mom is dealing with this but glad she has you there for her. If you could give us a little more info I am sure someone will be able to help more. What kind is cancer is it? There are many different kinds of BC. I had chemo and rads after but some have chemo then surgery.Someone with the same type of cancer will be able to help more. God Bless
    (((Hugs))) Janice
  • Marcia527
    Marcia527 Member Posts: 2,729
    I was a stage 3a at 52 also.