Moms with young kids

2»

Comments

• RebeccaB
    RebeccaB Member Posts: 1
    Hi Nancy,
    I was recently

Hi Nancy,
    I was recently diagnosed at age 38 with stage 1A Ovarian cancer. However, I am going through chemo since my tumor grade was a 3. I am currently in treatment. I have a 3 yr old & a 1 yr old. You are correct that it is hard to find other women with little kids with ovarian cancer. I have found a few. Now they are much older which is always nice to hear. Like you I am mainly concerned with my kids. I want to see them grow. This is my first time on this website, so I am just trying to figure out how it all works. I hope you are doing well now.

Rebecca
  • Gabe N Abby Mom
    Gabe N Abby Mom Member Posts: 2,413
    I have a 14 year old son and
    I have a 14 year old son and a 9 year old daughter. From day one, I have been open and honest with them. The social worker at Kaiser helped me find age appropriate information for them to read, and I took them to my chemo class.

At first, I was very worried about them. How were they feeling? Are they scared? But they have been so resilient. I have found my daughter be more compassionate than I realized, and she is staying "snuggly" longer.

One day I gave my son some material to read. As teenagers do, he got some attitude about reading it. When I pushed he finally said, "Mom, you're trying to protect me from YOUR cancer. But you can't do that. It's YOURS, and you can't protect me from that."

I doubt this helps, except to let you know that whatever the age, we all have concerns for our families. And that you will find support and compassion here.

Hugs to you,

Linda
  • Hi Nancy
    I am 31 yrs old with a six year old...My son had one concern; he didn't want people to laugh at my bald head.. After I reassured him they wouldn't, he wanted to show everyone my head :)...
  • pinkflutterby
    pinkflutterby Member Posts: 615 Member

Hi Nancy