Post Cancer - Dealing with everything after treatments

TLynn0102
TLynn0102 Member Posts: 86
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
First let me say I am new to this I have always had control of my life and what happens with it. I went through breast cancer last year with my chemo ending Dec. 5th, 2008. My entire life changed the day I found the lump. I was 42 at the time. I had a bi-lateral mastectomy, 16 rounds of chemo and the DIEP flap procedure in January of this year. I guess part of this is my fault, I told myself this was a hiccup in my life because I didn't want to admit that I was sick and that I had no control over it. I acted as if my life was 'normal' from begining to end. I never told anyone exactly how I was feeling or the fear that ripped me apart. Now one year later here I am, a mess to say the least. I don't have any self worth I feel like humpty dumpty broken and put back together again, my job is extremely stressful and I can't move past the feeling that after a hug from my oncologist I was shipped out the door left with the feeling of 'what next?'. I am a gene carrier for the BRACA1 gene, cannot take the tamoxifin because I am a triple negative receptor and life with constant fear for this returning. My husband is the type that accepts what happens and moves on. He tells me to 'suck it up, accept it and move forward'. So exactly how does one do that? I am at a loss. I have my wonderful book that was given to me at the begining of this journey and am going to call the support line today and set up an appointment with the counselor. Will it do any good? Should I include my family in this as they just think I should have returned to normal? I am thankful for so many things in my life but the cancer seems to have taken control of it and I don't know where to begin to get my life back. Has anyone else ever been through this? Is this normal or am I just blowing smoke and having a pitty party as my husband tells me? Long story short, everything came to