NED after five years - been away a while!

Sheepy
Sheepy Member Posts: 48
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hi all,
I posted on these boards a few years ago, after surgery for colon cancer in 2003 when I was 38.

Since then I kind of disappeared, but I was just tidying up my favourites in my browser when I was reminded of this site so I thought I'd post an update.

Quite simply, I've been getting on with life! I'm now 44, no evidence of disease whatsoever with just an annual blood test, and a colonoscopy every two years. I've been working full time since early 2004, and I think it's fair to say I'm a picture of health.

My kids are nearly grown up, with my youngest being 14. Thanks to the miracles performed by modern medicine I've been here for them and if anything the cancer made us closer.

Only last year I finally got some genetics results which show I've got the 'MSH6' mutation (a form of HNPCC) so now the whole family's getting tested. My mum never had colon cancer, but did have endometrial, gall bladder and kidney primaries in her last twenty years - and it turns out it's all got a common cause.

That's why I have the two-yearly colonoscopy, so at least any more CRC will be picked up.

While I still have to worry about any new cancers I really don't think about my cancer now - I've gone from thinking I might not be here in a few years, to assuming I will be.

I hope this update gives some hope to those of you beginning the journey. Mine has been emotional but looking back it's been one of the most emotionally rewarding times of my life as well!

Comments

• ron50
    ron50 Member Posts: 1,723 Member
    Congratulations Sleepy.