Surgery went well, but body crashed

BJS74
BJS74 Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Thyroid Cancer #1
This is my first time posting a message, so it might be long. My name is Barbara and I had a totol thyroid removal on Jan. 6,2004. I was in surgery for 4 hours.The doctor toldem my family that the cancer had spread so the whole thing had to come out plus some lymth nodes. I was released from the hospitalon Jan. 8 and told to come into the office on Jan. 19 and we would arange to have my radioactive iodin test done. On Jan. 10 woke up with the most massive headache, it was very swift and painfull, I took my blood pressure it was running 197 over 89. I asked my husband to call the EMT's to check the blood pressure. They took my blood pressure at 245/89, they told me I did not have a choise I was going to the emergency room. I was in the emergency room all day Saturday, they ran all kinds of test and did not fine out what had brought it on so they called it a migraine headache and ended up giving me 3 morphine shots before the pain finally went away and sent me home. Sometime Sunday night I got up to go to the restroom but I could not see so I asked my husband to help me to bed. Sometime later I woke up and my body started shacking I tryed to yell for my husband but he did not hear me and I got stiff and passed out. About 6 in the morning I heard him leave for his morning coffee, I got up to go to the bathroom. I went into the bathroom and passed out. He found me in the bathroom but I had passed out against the door and he could not get it open. He called the ambulance service and at the same time the grandson showed up and he tore the bathroom door. I was totally nacked and had know idea what was happening. They rushed me to the hospital which is 60 miles away. I have been told this because the first thing I remember is being in a regular hospital room and wanting the throw up. I had the dry heaves so bad my face was turning purple because I was not breathing. They