father with possible recurrence

Options
sandra5678
sandra5678 Member Posts: 9 Member
edited November 2022 in Colorectal Cancer #1

Hello, I’ve been looking through the forum at peoples experiences which have given me a little more hope than I has before. My dad was diagnosed with stage III colon cancer in 2021. Had resection and then chemo for 6 months and was NED on Dec of that same year. He just had his recent follow-up with his oncologist and his CEA level was up to 8.1. I’m a nurse so I know a little bit more than my family about what this could mean and the worry is eating me alive. My dad is in good spirits and hasn’t complained of any issues but I can’t help but worry if he has the slightest cough, back pain (he’s an oil field worker so his job is very labor intensive) or the smallest of abdominal discomfort. I’m so scared that his cancer has widely spread and there won’t be any hope for him. I’m the oldest of 5 and at 28 I have to make sure I stay strong for my mother and my youngest sibling who’s only 10. This all just feels so unfair since my dad has always been super healthy and active. He’s only 53 and I just feel like he should have so much more time than I fear he has. I guess this was more of a rant so I’m sorry about that. Any positive words would be helpful while we await his results.

Comments

• SandiaBuddy
    SandiaBuddy Member Posts: 1,381 Member
    Options

All sorts of things can lead to CEA increases. It is natural response to assume the worst about every ache or symptom, but in many cases these matters turn out to be nothing to worry about. I hope the test results for your father are good.

• sandra5678
    Options