Inquiry

ram4000
ram4000 Member Posts: 5 Member

Hi. This is my first time posting on any discussion board. My father is suffering from colon cancer stage 4 ( it has effected the liver). i want to know that after first chemotherapy can they determine through tests whether the chemotherapy worked or not. if yes then through what test ( blood test, biopsy etc). secondly, the day after of chemotherapy he was admitted to icu due to liver infection. since then the doctor isnt giving chemo he is waiting for infection to decrease. he was given central line to heart and today after 4 days out of icu he was again admitted in icu for respiratoy failure. i wish to confirm from you guys that is this the procedure i.e he should wait for infection to decrease or should he skip chemo and perform surgery because infection in liver must be due to cancer on liver due to coloncancer. 

Thanks in advance

anytype of input will be highly appreciated.

Comments

• plsletitrain
    plsletitrain Member Posts: 252 Member
    Some thoughts

I believe the usual tests to determine whether a chemo works for someone is the CEA test (blood test), or if he has known tumors then he has to undergo scans such as CT, PET, or MRI to see if they decreased in size.  I don't think it will be done right after the 1st chemo though as it is still too early to tell.  Some docs wait until say, after the 4th cycle to see if the chemo has an effect on the cancer.

Personally, I would make sure I'm clear of the infection first before I submit myself to chemo.  Cancer takes some time to move, whereas a liver failure, infection, or respiratory failure is more immediate.  He needs to make sure his body is ready to receive the chemo, not worsen his condition by infusing chemo.  That is just my opinion, but you should defer to the medical experts.  I'm not.  

I wish your father well.  I hope he recovers from the infection soon.  God bless to the both of you.

• Annabelle41415