Husband with hodgkins

Hello,

I am new to this discussion. My Husband was diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma In October of 2016. Dr gave a good prognosis, and Lymphoma is curable, but that is down the road. Getting through the treatment is quite an experience.

He is approaching his 6th chemo treatment coming up on Jan 9,  2017. Regimen is set for 12 treatments..

I am at a crossroads, as I am trying to help him battle the chemo side effects, although feeling so helpless and scared at the same time, but trying to keep up a strong front.

He is fatiqued, and does not want to eat much, due to the taste bud issues that go along with Chemo. He does well with soups, shakes, smoothies. boost, ensure.etc.

I offer different things for him to eat/drink, however I want him to eat more, because we do not want to lose any more weight!

He has lost abound 20lbs since the beginning, and has 6 more treatments....

Bottom line is I feel so very bad for him, and he is a very postive person normally, so he  gets up every day and goes to work, even it is a half day,

then comes home and is just exhausted..

I don't want to be a nagging wife, and irritate him with questions about how he is feeling, or if I can get him a drink or food.

thank you for listening.

tammy k.

Comments

• Max Former Hodgkins Stage 3
    Max Former Hodgkins Stage 3 Member Posts: 3,803 Member
    edited January 2017 #2
    A blessing to him

Tammy, you are obviously a blessing to your husband.  Your worry is unavoidable.

It sounds like he is on ABVD, which is what I took (the 12 infusions and the fact that he has HL is what makes me think this).  Anorexia, or adversion to eating is common after numerous infusions have been applied. I stopped eating anyting and had to live on Ensure, or other breakfast drinks for the last few months.