Catheter Removal

Options
DaveTX
DaveTX Member Posts: 19 Member
edited December 2023 in Prostate Cancer #1

Any of you that had RP do the catheter removal at home? If you did, any learnings you can share? My option, home or back at MDA. They taught my wife and me how to do it with both a video and hands on another catheter. Thought I see what others did before I schedule an appointment for this Friday,

Comments

• Clevelandguy
    Clevelandguy Member Posts: 1,013 Member
    Options

Hi,

I let the Urologist pull mine just incase there was an issue. I know they pull lots of them so I wanted their professional opinion when they pulled it that everything appeared normal.

Dave 3+4

• DaveTX
    Options

Thanks Clevelandguy, I feel as you do. My wife and I have no experience and I'm concerned with the "what if". Was checking to see if I was being overly cautious.

• On_A_Journey
    On_A_Journey Member Posts: 99 Member
    edited December 2023 #4
    Options

I don't want to scare anyone here, but in my humble opinion, catheter removal is the absolute worst feeling in the world!

I hate it so much, I would reconsider any future surgery that would require it during the recovery period - or demand to be anaesthetized to get it removed. I don't want to experience it awake ever again.

The only way I would do it at home is if I was extremely drunk and full of prescribed narcotics, then maybe I would tug it a bit at a time over several hours.