difficult patient

Options
babsathome1
babsathome1 Member Posts: 4 Member
edited October 2023 in Caregivers #1

I am new to caregiving and don't like it much. My bf is the patient and he is very difficult to deal with. He is very needy, demanding, rude at times and disrespectful. He needs to have someone with him 24/7 and is very controlling of me mostly. I do have other people here that help with his care so that I can take care of other things like the house, pets, cook, yard, shop, etc. But god forbid if I go outside for a few hours to get away from all of it and regroup. Anyone else experiencing similar with their patient?

Comments

• EPML
    EPML Member Posts: 1 Member
    Options

Hello.

I am sorry you have to deal with this inappropriate behaviour. Have you asked him why he treats you this way? Could he possibly feel angry due to his diagnosis? At times when people do not feel well, they tend to act very negatively. I am a registered nurse and I deal with this all the time with ill patients. You cannot take this personally. We have to remember that they are going through a lot more as the cancer patient, than you as the caregiver. You both have different feelings and grieving processes. Kind of keep that in mind, but I do believe that communication between the two of you is key. Let him know that you do not appreciate his behaviour. You have as much right as he does to be respected, especially since you are not obligated to assist him. You are his caregiver because you choose to be. You are not his husband and are not obligated to help him. Let him know that so he can see where you are coming from.