I miss my old life

smore09
smore09 Member Posts: 2

Hi,

I'm new to this and I really need to know if anyone has figured out how to be ok with your new/after cancer life.  I was diagnosed at 45 with stage 3C ovarian cancer.  Surgery, chemo and we thought I was in the clear.  Six months later it was back.  More chemo, clears up and back in 6 months.  I have had 3 rounds of chemo and been on Zejula for the last 6 months.  I'm pretty sure its back.  I see doctor in 2 weeks.  This is the thing though.  How do you get out and have a normal life when you are back in treatment 6 months of every year?  I want to go back to work.  I want to wake up in the morning and feel good.  I used to exercise everyday. Now I'm fat, I hate it!  I don't have the energy to walk around the mall.  I try.  Everytime after chemo I work on losing the weight, getting stronger, but I don't get anywhere.  It makes me so mad!  How do I have a life?  I'm really lonely.  I'm home all day while everyone goes to work.  The only friends I have also have cancer and they are busy fighting their own battles.  I should mention that I moved to a new state 2 years ago.  I have friends, they just aren't close. 

Any suggestions? 

Thanks

Comments

• Nicm
    Nicm Member Posts: 32 Member
    Do you have family that you

Do you have family that you are close to? Is there any one in your life you’d consider a support network? If not, maybe counseling or therapy might help talk through some of these issues to find solutions that fit with your new life?? Best of luck! my mom is fighting her battle for the second time and i habe the cancer gene so statistically at some point I’ll be fighting this cancer battle too! 

• smore09
    smore09 Member Posts: 2
    Nicm said:

Do you have family that you