I have one nerve...

Options
TheTerry
TheTerry Member Posts: 27

PSW, scheduled for three hours tonight, phoned to say she'd be here i  15 minutes BUT has a "heavy cold" and will try not to give it to my sister. Said she was actually not feeling well when here last night. WTF? Why, I  asked, did you not call this morning for a sub? Oh, you'll never get a sub on a holiday weekend, she said. (It's Thanksgiving weekend in Canada.) She said she'd try not to give the cold to my sister (in palliative care) or me. WTF again?

I've been doing this for only two months and shouldn't feel as angry and fried as I do, but there it is. I was here for my sister's hysterectomy (endometrial cancer) in 2014 (I live 300 miles away); for ICU admission for side effects of radiation in  2015  and commuted every three weeks last winter to take care of her through six cycles of chemo. (In May 2016, I had emergency cholecystectomy, and inMay 2017 found out I too had endometrial cancer, but least aggressive cell type so needed only surgery.) I came for a visit in mid-August-  just to hang out with my sister, see a movie, etc., and take her for a routine follow-up appt at the cancer centre when we were told that the chemo hadn't worked and she was out of treatment options. She had to be hospitalized for a month, during which time I did a major clean-up of her house so she could come home. On Tuesday she will have been home a month, and outlived the MDs'life expectancy estimates (in the first 24 hours, it went from6-8 months, to 3 months to 1 month, and the next day it was 2 months.

So I flip out if a PSW decides to work knowing she's sick. Not the first time a PSW has failed to work a full shift. I  shouldn't feel as unsupported as I do but this role is very isolating, especially when I'm not in my home town.

I just needed to vent and feel sorry for myself, and figured people here would understand.

Comments

• jorola
    jorola Member Posts: 243 Member
    Options
    I get it