Trying to cope with my dad's cancer..

Options
GTHOJ08
GTHOJ08 Member Posts: 11 Member

I'm new to this and not sure where to start so I'll give you a background on my situatio.  I'm 26 years old and as of March 13, 2017 my family and I have found out that my dad has stage 4 colon cancer and it's spread to his liver.  His cancer is very aggressive and we have been told with treatments he will only be with us for the next 3-5 years, and without treatments he will only be with us for 1 year.  As the oldest child I am finding it very hard to cope with this news.  My dad has been diagnosed with stage 3 colon cancer back in August of 2016 but it's just so much to handle knowing he's now at stage 4 within months even with chemo.  

is there anyone out there who can relate to me?  My mom is taking this very hard and my dad is the rock of our family.. so as the oldest child I am trying to keep it together for the rest of my family.  I just feel so lost especially when someone asks me what's wrong I just get so emotional... my dad is being so strong and I just want to do my best and be strong for him.  

Sorry if there are any grammar or spelling errors it's late here and I just have so much on my mind.

Comments

• danker
    danker Member Posts: 1,276 Member
    edited March 2017 #2
    Options
    Time

Doctors cannot predict time til death except when using hrs or days.  I was 77 when dxed as stage2/3.  This summer I will be 85! LOL  It may be a bumpy road, but cancer can be beat.  Take it a day at a time and perhaps your father will outlive me.  Best of luck!

• Trubrit
    Trubrit Member Posts: 5,796 Member
    Options
    Danker is right