Father with Stage IV Glioblastoma - very angry

mnett19
mnett19 Member Posts: 1

Hi All,

I'm new to the discussion board, but am hoping for some help as I am feeling very alone and frustrated.  My dad was diagnosed about 5 weeks ago with stage four glioblastoma. The tumor a butterfly glioma that spreads across his frontal lobes; this effects personality and emotion.  My dad has always been a lover not a fighter, but lately, the past three weeks or so, I've watched him turn into a fighter, not a lover.  He started treatment - Temodar and radiation on 11/14.  He seems to take his anger out on my mom, his primary caregiver (and lately me).  Sometimes I wonder (and I hope I dont sound horrible for saying this), if he turns this on and off for certain people.  He'll be screaming at my mom in one breath (this never happened before) and then if someone calls on the phone, he's sweet as pie and you would think my "old dad" is back and everything is normal.  He'll say things like "maybe I wont go out tonight, I might have more fun just sitting here and annoying you the rest of the night", so it makes me think he knows what he's doing and how he's acting.  He keeps saying "it's all about me, no one else, remember that", and has become beligerent, inconsiderate and obnoxious to others that he sometimes knows or doesnt know.  I know the steriod he's on, the treatment and where the cancer sits in his brain can be effecting all of these things that make my dad not my dad anymore, and it's hard for me to bite his tongue when he acts out of character, but I do. 

Has anyone else experienced the nastiness of a loved one who was never like this pre-cancer?  If so, what did you do?  Is there any reasoning with them or is it a waste of time?  

Comments

• dfniece
    dfniece Member Posts: 2 Member
    mnett19, I am sorry that you