Small Kidney Tumor

Options
tmillspa
tmillspa Member Posts: 3
edited November 2016 in Kidney Cancer #1

I am a retired firefighter and because firefighters have a 2 to 3 times higher chance of being diagnosed with cancer I insisted on a chest scan with my GP.

The chest came back good, thankfully. They barely caught part of my kidney on the CT images and noted that a closer look at the kidneys needed to be done. Did a full abdomen and pelvic CT contrast scan and it confirmed a growth of 1.5 cm on my rt kidney.

Went to urologist and he suggested a wait and see approach because of its size and ordered a sono. 

A few days after the original uro appt he called me and told me the sono pretty much ruled out a cystic type growth and stated that the odds are that the tumor is malignant. He still thinks the best course is to re-sono in 3 months to see if it has grown. He did tell me the odds on it being a rapid growth tumor are very slim.

Now, being new to cancer I don't like the fact that I have almost confirmed cancer in my body, and being a 'lets get er done' type of guy I want to get it out.

But I do have to put some faith in the medical community because I am not a doctor.

Would a second opinion be a good idea? Anybody else dealing with a small tumor in the kidney and playing the waiting game?

Comments

• Eliezer2
    Eliezer2 Member Posts: 85
    edited November 2016 #2
    Options
    slow growing, you have time to consider

you are in shock because of the c word.   if cancer, it grows slowly in kidney and you might have walked about with it 2 years or more without any detection.   cancer is just a word.  maintain you routine.

• tmillspa
    edited November 2016 #3
    Options
    Eliezer2 said:

slow growing, you have time to consider

you are in shock because of the c word.   if cancer, it grows slowly in kidney and you might have walked about with it 2 years or more without any detection.   cancer is just a word.  maintain you routine.