First chemo

Options

Hi, just checking in after my first chemo. cisplatin really sucks! It knocked me down for 5 days straight, three of them in the hospital. I tried everything to stay hydrated and could not keep anyhting down at all. Meds did not help, but now feel much better. Radiation is not nearly as bad, eight txs done so far. I lost 16 lbs in 10 days, good thing I had some to spare lol. Now at least I know what to expect for the next 2 rounds. 

Rj

Comments

• debbiejeanne
    debbiejeanne Member Posts: 3,102 Member
    Options
    rj, i have no experience with

rj, i have no experience with chemo but wanted to say i'm praying that it gets better for you.  i had rads and surgery and the surgery was by far the worst for me.  hope you get thru the rest of tx w/very few side effects.

God bless,

dj

• Guzzle
    Guzzle Member Posts: 710
    Options
    well done

RJ I got 6 weeks radiation coming up in a month or so. Keep me updated on how its going mate. Greetings from Liverpool UK.

• Skiffin16
    Skiffin16 Member Posts: 8,305 Member
    Options
    Hydration and Calories...

Both are key..., if the meds aren't working, have them try something else... One thing my Onco always told me.., if you have something going on, let me know..., I have something for it..., and she always did.

Hang in there...

John

• phrannie51
    phrannie51 Member Posts: 4,716
    Options
    5 days was how long

the Cisplatin would do me in, too.....tho I never ended up in the hosptial.....I was getting Amifostine everyday tho, at the Onoclogist office, so got ultra hydrated via an IV everyday for 7 weeks, that might have been what saved my bacon.  You're getting the 3 big doses, right?  So you have 2 weeks to recover before you go for the next one.  16 lbs in 10 days is a lot of weight to drop, tho....