Question for the Group

Prostate cancer surgery in Feb of 2011, since that time I have had a number of issues. Cancer Brain for lack of a better term, depression, loss of energy, tiredness. I am a Viet Nam vet. So there are ptsd issues creeping back into my life. I have been going thru some of the postings and am seeing that there seems to be a lot of this in cancer surviors. My doctor says that I should not be seeing this. I was at stage T2C and final pathology report indicates that this might come back. My PSA numbers are moving up, but still in the undetectable range.

I do think and know that cancer surviors see life in a different sense. It is confusing to try and sort out all of the imformation at times.

The problem that I have at times is people that donot have cancer telling me how to treat this illiness.

Cancer is a life changing event.

I am trying to lead a normal life, but it is difficult.

Any input is welcomed.
I normally hang out in the PC forum.

Kurt

Kurt

Comments

• katenorwood
    katenorwood Member Posts: 1,912
    Cancer brain...new but works !
    Kurt,
    I am not what is deemed a long term survivor ...almost 9 months. I have a dx of ACC H/N. But I totally get wanting just to be better now ! People watching from the outside of things only mean to boost you up. I use to get very angry with comments, and the look. You know the one....I think we all do. The new us is another comment I am having issues with too...probably because I am not cancer free yet. Acceptance of what is and moving forward seems some days an uphill battle. But I think we can do it, with positive attitude and people that know the feelings we endure. Good luck Kurt ! Katie
  • Jules10K
    Jules10K Member Posts: 6
    That's odd