Looking to talk with those of you who have put Radiation Therapy in the rear view mirror !

Hello,

I'm new to the network, I am half way through my radiation treatments for Squamous Cell CA primary left tonsil bed with metastasis to a few lymph nodes same side neck (T1,N2,M0 IVa).
Operated on and removed on 10-31-11, got all I'm told.

I would very much like to chat with those like me who are out 3,4 or 5 years post radiation to see what chronic side effects they were left with. I'm having a terrible time with the acute side effects and want to know quite frankly if it's worth it.....

Thanks, and God Bless.

Zorba

Comments

• tracylc31
    tracylc31 Member Posts: 9
    Worth It!
    Zorba,
    I have asked myself many times if all of the side effects are worth it. I get my answer every time my 2 year old granddaughter hugs me and tells me she loves me.

I was diagnosed with base of tongue cancer in 2006. There is no family history, I've never smoked, so I was VERY surprised at my diagnosis. From the moment I was told I had cancer, I never once thought of it as being deadly. I don't know if it was denial or what. To this day I don't think I realize how sick I actually was. About a year after I finally began to get better, my ENT said to me, "I can tell you this now but I didn't think you were going to make it. I would have never told you that before, but I can tell you that now."