25 yr old husband with possible renal cancer

MorganLeigh22
MorganLeigh22 Member Posts: 1
My husband is 24yrs old and had a 4.5cm mass found on his kidney 3 months ago. The radiologist and urologist decided it was a complex cyst, and we needed to rescan in 3 months. Well...the urologist called today and said the radiologist was more concerned this time, so a total nephrectomy is coming up. We meet with the urologist next week to talk surgery. I am just feeling really scared and unsure. To make matters almost worse, I am an ICU nurse at the hospital where the surgery will be. The urologist said it hadn't metastasized or changed in size on the recent CT, so I am still not sure what happened to make him change his mind about removing it. I was going to ask about removing the kidney at the next appointment anyway because even a complex cyst that size makes me nervous. Being a nurse, I have seen how horrible things like this can get, and it scares me even more. I have to act like it is not big deal to my husband, so he doesn't get scared. We also have a 6 month old daughter. I guess I am just really down and worried tonight :(

Morgan Adams

Comments

• grandmafay
    grandmafay Member Posts: 1,633 Member
    Hang In There