Care Giver BOT new

Options
jim and i
jim and i Member Posts: 1,788 Member
Hello, I am new to CSN and have spent all day on this site. My husband has been diagnosed with base of tongue cancer. I think you all use BOT for short. My question is. "Any caretakers out there who suffer from depression? I have suffered for years and take meds. Part of the cause is being the family carefamily taker since a small child.

For the last ten years I have had soul reponsibility for the family income since my husbands retirement in 2000. He has always been the strong one who patiently let me cry and have breakdowns, yet still loved me. Now I can't work and care for him and I am overwhelmed with the responsibility of keeping his spirits up as well as my own. I don't feel I can do this! I also feel that I must stay positive for our children's sake. I know all this stuffing of emotions is bad for me but can't help it.

We are living on $1000 per month plus a few thousand (less than 5) savings so hiring a counselor is out. I am hoping to meet others on this site to talk to and vent and maybe get info on a free support group in my area (East Central Florida, Deltona area).

I had planned on retiring January 2012 at age 62 so my husband who is 15 years older and I could spend beach and fishing time together. We have worked toward this for six years and now I am grieving the loss of that time together.

My mother has never understood why I take meds for depression and my husband doesn't believe in them for hisself but they are good for me. he thinks. If or when he goes through depression himself he won't talk to anyone or take meds. How will I cope with that?

I have rambled but I needed to talk. Even if no one responds.

Debbie

Comments

• stevenl
    stevenl Member Posts: 587
    Options
    Ramble