At a crossraods with my future...

evalencia
evalencia Member Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Caregivers #1
Hi everyone, I am new to the "club" but I'm relieved to be hear. I've taking care of my father who has recently been dx with lung cancer on his birthday. It's been hard for me and my family. Some members began blaming eachother over who is to be responsible.

Well since I was 16, when my parents divorced, I have been responsible for my dad. I know all of his medical histories. I take him to doctors, I pick up his medicine, and I do his paperwork. It's getting very hard lately because I am the rock that keeps my family together. As long as I ramian firm and postive things seems to run well. But that has been working for me until now.

I am do to go to school 3 hours away from home in the fall and I am breaking. I am terrified of leaving home during a time like this. Help me! what do I? My emotions are spinning and my anxiety is rising. I have been there for my families emotional support and I have always been there for my dad. But now I find myself at a crossroads with my future.

The effects of chimo are beginning to be visible. I feel this is the time when he needs me the most. But I've been accepted to go to school and I've been working for this for years.

I'm scared, I'm worried. What if i get that dreadful 'bad news' or 'something happened' phone call while I am away?

Any thoughts?

JUNE 24, 2010

-Elizabeth

Comments

• GregStahl
    GregStahl Member Posts: 188
    Hard choice
    Not sure what to tell you. Talk with your family, talk with your dad, talk with friends. You did not state what his prognosis is or where he is at with treatments. Hard decisions to make but make the decisions that are best for you. Your dad might need you, but you are still #1 in your life.
  • webozo
    webozo Member Posts: 82 Member
    go to school!!!!! go to
    go to school!!!!! go to school, go to school, you can only give to others if you can give to yourself.