Not sure where to turn to help my Father.

Options
taodum
taodum Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Caregivers #1
Hello, all I am brand new to this and I am reaching for advice, and direction. My father is terminal with bone cancer, his diagnosis came Christmas Eve, and he started chemo (which was the only option) and is not doing well. I am looking at the end stages, but do not know how to financially cope with this. Right now he is staying with a friend but this will not work out for much longer. He already receives disability from the state, and his medical care is taken care of by the VA- but are there programs to help with housing? Optimally he, and myself would like him here at my home with me, but we have no place to put him without adding on a room, which we cannot financially manage right now. This has all happened so fast, I'm confused, frustrated, hurting..... if anyone can offer suggestions, we live in Maine.

Thank you,
bewildered daughter

Comments

• geotina
    geotina Member Posts: 2,111 Member
    Options
    taodum
    Do you really need to add a room to the house to accommodate dad? The reason I am asking is you said he is "end stage", which means, unfortunately, and I am so very sorry, that he may not be with us long. I would think converting the living room or family room or a dining room into a bedroom for dad would be your answer. Is it inconvenient, of course, but to have your dad with you for the time he has left would be so good for all involved. If you have children, could they double or triple up giving up their room for your dad? Adding on to a home could be a year long project, moving stuff around might be just the ticket for you. You can always put your stuff in storage and some screens/dividers from places like Pier1 or Potterybarn would give some privacy.

You could always move dad into your room and put a sofa bed in the living room/dining room for yourself to sleep. Just a thought.

Take care - Tina
  • grandmafay