Decision making time

Options
melch
melch Member Posts: 5
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi! I was just diagnosed with stage 3A breast cancer. The doctor told me that since my tumor was quite large at 6.7cm, I need to undergo chemo first to shrink the tumor. I'm seeing an oncologist tomorrow and will soon have to decide. The lymph nodes in my right armpit are really swollen and the ultrasound shows the lymph nodes under my clavicle may have also been affected. I'm just beginning on this road and am encouraged by all of you, and your willinness to put up a good fight.

The thing that makes it hard to decide is a number of friends are encouraging me to go to the FUDA Cancer hospital in Guangzhou, China because of their new approach to cancer. But a doctor friend told me if I go to FUDA I could miss the opportunity to be cured. So I guess I'm staying put and try to convince myself that this is the best thing to do.

Comments

• pinkkari09
    pinkkari09 Member Posts: 877
    Options
    Good Morning melch.....I'm
    Good Morning melch.....I'm not sure about that hospital in China, are you currently in the states? I have stage 3c triple negative BC and it's in my "supraclavicular node" that's the one near your collar bone, along with in my inner mammory node in my chest wall. So far I've had chemo, in order to shrink the large tumor, on 2-11 I had a double mastectomy, both ovaries and immediate reconstruction, next is radiation to those two nodes that are un-removable along with the original tumor site. I have lot of faith in all of my doctors here and believe I'm in good hands. I want to wish you the best of luck with your decision and know that there are many wonderful people on this board here for you 24/7
    Big Hugs,
    Kari
  • Marlene_K
    Marlene_K Member Posts: 508
    Options
    Have faith in your doctor