Let me introduce myself

Options
fauxma
fauxma Member Posts: 3,577 Member
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I actually think I posted to one of the subjects before but I never really introduced myself. I am new to breast cancer but not new to cancer. I had endo cancer Stage 2B, grade 3 in 2000. I had a hysterectomy and radiation treatments (external and internal) and have been NED for 9 years. In 2002 I had bladder cancer. It was very small and it was removed during the cystocopy and I have been NED for 6 1/2 years. In 2003, I had a couple of squamous skin cancers removed. And that has been fine also. I do all my follow ups (yearly now) and always have my mammograms done at the same time I go for my endo re-check. In 2005, I had to go back for additional films and then had a biopsy on my right breast. There were microcalcifications that were suspicious. Happily they were just that, no cancer and they put in a clip and I continued with my regular check ups. In early October of 2008, I again did my regular mammos and they called to do additional films on both breasts. I figured more calcifications. After these were done, I got a call from my doctor that they wanted to do biopsies on both breasts and I still thought calcification because what are the odds that I would get cancer in both breasts at the same time and in the same location. He sent me the report from the radiologist and being a research freak when it comes to anything medical, I went online and punched in the information. I saw that the description wasn't calcifications but solid masses, both very small but not cysts. My report said that they recommended ultrasound guided biopsies for both. When I went for the biopsies, they were able to do the right breast but they felt that the left would be better done stereotactically so we scheduled that for the following week. Two days later my doctor called and said that it was a cancer in the right breast, small but IDC. He and I discussed the possibility that