Robotic Surgery - Choice of Surgeon

cbele
cbele Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Prostate Cancer #1
Recently diagnosed with PCa - Gleason 6 (3+3) - T2a - Age 66. I have met with Drs Patel (Ohio State), Ash Tewari and David Lee from Penn in Philly. I am leaning toward Tewari - he seems great and I have talked to some of his former patients as well as read about him on this forum. Has anyone had any experience with David Lee or Patel ? Your input would be appreciated.
CPB

Comments

• rogermoore
    rogermoore Member Posts: 264 Member
    cbele,

Sorry to hear of your diagnosis. I am glad you have visited our site though. Although I have had no experience with either of the surgeons listed ( I had conventional surgery) there are many members who have. I am sure you will receive responses from them. I had the exact scores as you and am now leading a completely normal life.

Keep positive and good luck,

Roge
  • jerber70
    jerber70 Member Posts: 4
    Can't help you with the surgeron choice. Mine was completed 3 weeks ago yesterday 08/06 by a Dr.Ackerman in Portland,OR. Went home next day. Just had three week check and doing fine. Minimal pain, some incontinence, and a nasty rash from the leakage until I got some meds for it but still in my opinion this was the best option for me. Had a gleason 3+4 with 6 yrs of low (1.04-1.74) PSA only a digital exam found the tumor. Good luck..
  • fcatroneo
    fcatroneo Member Posts: 89
    I heard Tewari was the best and most experience. Don't know of the others. I had RP in Dec, 2006. Everything is fine. From my research, if I was to recommend a procedure to anyone it would be robotics with Tewari.
  • cbmjhh49885
    cbmjhh49885 Member Posts: 2