Side effects of Aromasin

Options
terryI
terryI Member Posts: 43
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I am a survivor of 3 years. I was taking tamoxfin. My doctor changed me over to Aromasin and now I am have complete body and joint pain. I work in retail and stand on my feet for 8 hours a day 5 days a week and this is just killing me. I have talked to my doctor and she has told me to try and work through it as this is the best treatment. My question to you is has anyone else had these systems? What have you done to help get through the discomfort. I was doing well on tamoxfin and would like to go back on it. Has anyone else had this reaction? Thank you in advance for your help it is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• cruf
    cruf Member Posts: 908
    Options
    Hi Terry! Yes, I also have joint aches and pains from Aromisen but with time, they seem to be somewhat less. I do wake up in the AM and move as an old lady but the more I move around the more I losen up. I also am on my feet all day as I'm a PT in a Nursing Home working with subacute Residents. I'm ok as long as I move around but when I stand still or move slowly, my back hurts alot. Try to take some advil and exercise as much as you tolerate. You might want to see a PT who can give you suggestions of ways to ex and help yourself. I had been on Tamoxifen for 5 years and also tolerated it much better. I have alot of side effects from the Aromisen such as increased Cholesterol, wt. gain, thinning of my hair etc... The MD is surprised but I only started this when I stopped Tamoxifen. I did try Femara for 8 mos. but that was real bad for me. Try to stay on the meds for a while and see if things don't calm down. Afterall, joint pain is better than a recurrance of Cancer.Keep us posted. Feel free to e-mail me here if you want. HUGS!! Cathy
  • glojo
    glojo Member Posts: 1
    Options
    Yes, It bothers me mostly in the evening. Sometimes I walk which helps. A couple of tylenol at night also helps