Sore feet...help

joannstar
joannstar Member Posts: 403 Member
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I am a newbie to this site.
My dx was Stage 1B invasive ductal carcinoma, high grade, triple negative. After a stereotactic biopsy, I've had 2 lumpectomies (in order to get clean margins) the second was on 8/5/10. I've had 3 of 6 chemo treatments (T-C followed up by a nulasta shot). I will also have 33 radiation treatments after I finish chemo.
I've been having a variety of side effects--which have been manageable, but last Saturday the heels of my feet started to burn and have not stopped. This has made walking nearly impossible without pain.
Does any one know of anything to help this side effect? I was really hoping to start a walking program to try to lose some of the weight that I have gained (first through celebrating at my wedding on 2/14/10) and then through the stress of breast cancer dx, but I see that is unrealistic unless I can find a solution to burning feet.
Thanks for any help you can give.

Comments

• Heatherbelle
    Heatherbelle Member Posts: 1,226 Member
    Hi & welcome :)Wow it sounds
    Hi & welcome :)Wow it sounds like you have certainly had a busy year -congratulations on your Valentine's Day wedding!
    While on taxotere, i developed a red, burning rash on the palms of my hands & soles of my feet. My onc nurse said it was very common, called it "hand and foot syndrome". Mine was worse on my hands than feet, hands are all healed almost a month since I've finished with chemo, but my feet are still peeling & cracking, although they don't hurt anymore. Have your Dr or nurse look at it, and if that's what it is-they can give you steroids for it. They gave me a prednisone 'Dose pack' that reduced the symptoms & helped ease the pain, and I used Eucerin lotion on it also.
    Best of luck to you.
    *hugs*
    Heather
  • joannstar

Hi & welcome :)Wow it sounds