Omentum

jenfer71
jenfer71 Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hi...I've been battling colon cancer for almost 3 years. I started with surgery to remove the tumor. Lymph nodes were involved but no sign of spread to other organs. Went in for 1st chemo (folfox + avastin) and found out that a spot had indeed been discovered on my liver. Went ahead with the chemo...did 11 of 12 treatments. Next scan showed no signs of cancer. Three months later at another scan my liver lit up like a Christmas tree. Had liver resection surgery in Jan '09 and my doc was not able to remove all of the tumor due to location. Started a 3 month run with xeloda. No cancer seen for next 6 months. In Sept '09 the tumor was compressing my bile duct. I began 28 rounds of radiation + xeloda. In Jan '10 at another scan I had 2 new tumors in my liver and cancer cells were now in my lungs. Began folfiri + avastin in February. Did 6 months of this...pure torture...and then scans showed that the tumors in my liver were stable and my lungs were completely clear. Began doing xeloda+avastin. Three months later...tumors in liver are stable but there is something suspicious with the omentum. Anyone have it spread to the omentum? Treatment options? Success stories? Looking for any info that you can give me. I am a 39 year old woman with 3 sons who really wants to see them grown. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• John23
    John23 Member Posts: 2,122 Member
    3 years.....

It's time to get some second and third opinions, Jen.

Locate colorectal surgeons that are not of the same group
    or association, and make some appointments. I think it's
    time for a change.

Locating other oncologists in the same manner, will also provide
    other opinions regarding chemotherapy methods, if that's what
    you desire to continue doing.

And of course, there are also alternatives to explore, with or
    without conventional treatments.