Dental issues....ARGHHH!!

Gabe N Abby Mom
Gabe N Abby Mom Member Posts: 2,413
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Bottom line...I have an abscess and the dentist doesn't know what caused it. Definately not a tooth issue, maybe the gums and even maybe the bone. So the dentist drained the abscess, and now there's swelling. This morning the swelling is up to my eye!! Don't know what they'll want to do now. YUCK!!!

Thanks for letting me vent!

Linda

Comments

• MyTurnNow
    MyTurnNow Member Posts: 2,686 Member
    Linda, I had a similar
    Linda, I had a similar experience during chemo. I had to have 1 tooth pulled and then developed a similar condition on the other side of my mouth. The dentist was able to lance that gum and I didn't have any more problems. The one thing my dentist did immediately was put me on a pretty substantial prescription of penicilin. If I were you I would keep in touch with your dentist until you get the situation resolved. Good luck with that!
  • carkris
    carkris Member Posts: 4,553 Member
    MyTurnNow said:

Linda, I had a similar
    Linda, I had a similar experience during chemo. I had to have 1 tooth pulled and then developed a similar condition on the other side of my mouth. The dentist was able to lance that gum and I didn't have any more problems. The one thing my dentist did immediately was put me on a pretty substantial prescription of penicilin. If I were you I would keep in touch with your dentist until you get the situation resolved. Good luck with that!

hope this gets better soon
    hope this gets better soon prayers!
  • Marcia527
    Marcia527 Member Posts: 2,729
    I had that happen years ago
    I had that happen years ago (not on chemo). It was an abscessed tooth. Had a root canal and he sealed it but didn't remove all the abscess and my face swelled up. Had to reopen the abscessed tooth to let it drain and put me on antibiotics. You need to see the dentist right away cause you don't want that up by your eye.