newbie diag with DCIS

drea
drea Member Posts: 4
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hello, i am a newbie diagnoised with DCIS last tues 8/30..i have made my mind up to have a mastectomy..however, i do not know if want reconstruction or the prosthetics. I am so confused,sad and scared.

Comments

• Angie2U
    Angie2U Member Posts: 2,991
    Hi Drea
    I know you are drea. We have all been there, but, it does get better. It just takes some time for it to all sink in.

I had a lumpectomy and radiation treatments. Many here have had a mastectomy and can reply better to you if you have questions about that.

You have found a great group of sisters in pink that will support, help and encourage you with any treatment that you may have.

Good luck,

Angie
  • mollyz
    mollyz Member Posts: 756 Member
    almost newbie
    hi drea,i found out in may i had breast cancer had a mastectomy in june i was faced with the over whelming news I decided to wait until next year before reconstruction it's to much to deal with right now,i also had 8 positive lymph nodes i still stay on the internet learning things I had the type of mastectomy surgery that if i decided to have reconstruction i could theirs a name for it. pray about everything you decide to do God will lead you along with your team of dr.s
  • Miss Murphy
    Miss Murphy Member Posts: 302
    Bomarded at First
    Hi Drea!

So sorry you are here but this board is a great place for comfort, support and info. I had a masectomy 2 1/2 years ago. I didn't do reconstruction - I just didn't want to deal with more doctors and surgeries at the time and I knew I could change my mind at a later date.