Here comes the hair...

rene9
rene9 Member Posts: 214
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi everyone! I haven't posted in a while. I have gone back to work and it's back to the norm. Remember I finished chemo May 7th and I finished rads in mid July. I still have my expander and port and will find out when I can have the expander surgery and port removed next week. Anyway, you know I couldn't wait for my hair to grow back. Then, when I went back to work on August 4th (I'm a teacher)I was roasting under that wig. So, I said Septemer 7th when I went back to work after Labor Day I would leave the wig at home...well I couldn't wait. I lost that wig about 2 weeks ago when my husband cleaned up my sideburns and taped me. My hair is coming back evenly and it's nice. It's a short haircut and people that don't know me really like my "good hair" (LOL)! I have received alot of compliments, but some kids...Anyhow, to say the least, the kids don't ask me anymore questions. I explained that I took a medicine that made my hair come out and now it's growing back. I actually dare people to say something because I've been ready to snap! (After what I've been through too) I guess I've been home too long and welcome some drama, LOL!

rene9

Comments

• sea60
    sea60 Member Posts: 2,613
    I'll bet it looks really cute!
    Is it growing back curly? It seems so many have the "new" growth come in curly. Ugh...I remember how hot my head was with that wig. It was nice to finally be free of it.

Have a great school year Rene! Thank you for what you do. :D

Blessings & hugs,

Sylvia
  • cahjah75
    cahjah75 Member Posts: 2,631
    glad your hair is coming back. I too hate wigs. They're much too hot for me.I bought cotton knit hats and hairbands. Glad your school year is off to a good start!
    {{hugs}} Char
  • rene9
    cahjah75 said: