Does it get better?

nursesheri
nursesheri Member Posts: 50
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Sorry if this has been asked before, but I'm still new to this. Do the side effects of chemo get better with time? I've only had 2 tx, and I'm ready to throw in the towel. I hate the nausea, vomiting and hot lava that comes out of my hind end following each tx. Since I'm a stage IV, is it really worth it?

Sheri

Comments

• herdizziness
    herdizziness Member Posts: 3,624 Member
    Throwing in that Towel
    Hun, I can't answer for you on the chemo thing. For me? Yes, it got better. The first two times were the worst, then it just got better.
    I almost threw in the towel, I was only supposed to get an extra couple months out of chemo, but now it looks like I got years out of it, when I think back to when I wanted to throw in the towel, I'm forever grateful I didn't.
    What I'm trying to say is, give chemo a chance, don't toss that towel anywhere just yet.
    And for that hind end? Get those baby wipes, and a baby wipe warmer (the warmer helps the "cold" sensation not to be there when you grab for one on those fingers.) and some plain ole' Vaseline, your hind end will thank you, you will thank you, it makes things more bearable.
    I'm stage IV too.
    Winter Marie
  • idlehunters
    idlehunters Member Posts: 1,787 Member

Throwing in that Towel
    Hun, I can't answer for you on the chemo thing. For me? Yes, it got better. The first two times were the worst, then it just got better.
    I almost threw in the towel, I was only supposed to get an extra couple months out of chemo, but now it looks like I got years out of it, when I think back to when I wanted to throw in the towel, I'm forever grateful I didn't.
    What I'm trying to say is, give chemo a chance, don't toss that towel anywhere just yet.