Question on expanders

Jennifer1961
Jennifer1961 Member Posts: 137
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Okay. I'm trying to figure out what to do after chemo. More surgery with reconstruction or radiation. My surgeon really thinks I need mastectomy. Here's my concern. From what I understand, it takes several months for the expanders to "do their thing" before an implant can go in. This really stresses me out since I'm an exercise instructor and I can't imagine being off work for four to six months. Is it possible to exercise with the expanders in? I know the surgeon will have the answers, but I'm not seeing him for a week for two. It's almost 1am right now so obviously it's keeping me up at night!

Comments

• bakerette
    bakerette Member Posts: 74
    I don't think that you will
    I don't think that you will be out of work for six months. I have a very physical job. Im on my feet for 8-10 hours per day, lift at least 30lbs at a time several times a day. push and pull racks of product. I'm a baker, and I was told with bilateral mastectomy and reconstruction I would be off for 6 weeks. So, I have 3 more to go. I will trade my expanders for the permenant when I am ready. I'm thinking I want to work the holidays then get them in January as I will again be out of work for probably 4 weeks this time. It sucks being without income! But I had to think of what would matter to me long term. And getting rid of all the cancer, hopefully for good, then being put back together, made the most sense to me at the time.
  • Dot53
    Dot53 Member Posts: 239 Member
    Hi Jennifer