Femara fears

GayleMc
GayleMc Member Posts: 311 Member
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I'm embarassed to admit this, but I'm very scared to start my Femara. I know what the side effects can be and I know this must be done, but... any advice would be welcome. Has anyone had problems working their job? Does it help to take it at night versus day? I did ask these questions of the onc's PA but she had only good things to say about it. I'm the type of person who deals better if I know the pros AND the cons. I know this sounds so silly. I completed chemo and rads and survived but I can't shake this scaredy cat mentality.

Comments

• Katz77
    Katz77 Member Posts: 598
    Femara
    Can't say I've had side effects. I,like Rague I've been on it for 5-6 months. Achey bones, but I am almost 50. lol It does go after ur bones, so calicum and vit. D a must. Walking, some vigrous excercise a must. I have a 45 degree hill I briskley walk up and down. Guss thats all the side effects so far. I will be n it 10 yrs cause of the cancer I have. IDC, HER2+,ER and PR+ and 18/20 lymph nodes +. I thinkthey may be other choses. Ask ur onc.You didn't mention what ur fears are about the femara.Katz
  • BlownAway60
    BlownAway60 Member Posts: 851
    I have been on it since
    I have been on it since March and have had joint pain in my shoulders. Mentioned it to my onc last visit and she recommened Glucosamin, which I now take 3 times a day. It seems to be helping. I have had some hot flashes but they are not that bad. Other than that seem to be doing okay with it.

Hugs

Donna
  • wendybia
    wendybia Member Posts: 73
    femara
    i started in march...i take it at night, thought it made me a little dizzy...aches aren't too bad at all certainly manageable...don't be scared !!! :)
  • Rague
    Rague Member Posts: 3,653 Member
    I never thought twice about taking my Femara