What's in your name?

Comments

• Menda
    Menda Member Posts: 128
    My younger brother could not
    My younger brother could not say Melinda. It came out Menda. He was killed in a car wreck
    in 1988. On memory of him my grand-daughter is going to call me that. Only a handful of very close friends and family call me that.
  • aysemari
    aysemari Member Posts: 1,596 Member
    Popular like Mary
    My name Ayse (it's turkish) and friend who's french always gave me hard time about
    how hard my name is. I told her it is a very common and popular name in turkey like
    Mary. That's when she started calling me Ayse-Mari

There you have it... now it is REEEAALLLY common!

Ayse
  • starseed
    starseed Member Posts: 62
    linpsu said:

linpsu
    My name is Linda and I am a proud graduate of Penn State University.

PSU
    Hey!! Go Lions
    1975!
  • teresa41
    teresa41 Member Posts: 471
    aysemari said:

Popular like Mary
    My name Ayse (it's turkish) and friend who's french always gave me hard time about
    how hard my name is. I told her it is a very common and popular name in turkey like

Ayse

my name
    my name is teresa and i was 41 when diagnosed the first time.
  • cats_toy
    cats_toy Member Posts: 1,462 Member
    another great idea from one of our own
    I love the stories behind the names!
    Mine is that I am my cats toy, to be beat up, jumped on, sat on, tripped up, etc.
    I have also been called Cat by my husband for almost 35 years now. It started in high school as Cat Eyes (blue like my siamese), and it kind of stuck when I used go to some natural hot springs in our area and the only thing I wore was a hat from the CAT big machinery company. Even the people I didn't know would call me Cat.
    Lost that hat hitch hiking up the Cajon Pass, and really missed it.
    My real name is Vicki.
    thanks for starting this thread
    Cat
  • rjjj
    rjjj Member Posts: 1,822 Member
    cats_toy said: