new member having drains removed

TXGAL41
TXGAL41 Member Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I am having my drains removed tomorrow and am very nervous. My docter stated it may hurt does anyone have any suggestions or thoughts on this. I am new to all of this just had a double mastectomy on 6/9 and am not sure about anything right now. I am going to the oncologist on 7/2 and I guess he will set up chemo treatments at that time.

Comments

• Chickadee1955
    Chickadee1955 Member Posts: 356 Member
    Drain removal was painless!
    Drain removal was painless! Don't worry about it. The doc removes the stitch holding the drain and pulls it out. It is a little creepy because it is longer than one would expect, but no pain at all in my case. Relax! I was concerned, too, because I heard there was pain, but there was none.

Best of luck. I have my first chemo next Monday. I had to have another drain implanted when the portacath was implanted for the chemo due to fluid accumulation. Neither was a big deal. All will be okay.

Chickadee
  • MOrtiz0810
    MOrtiz0810 Member Posts: 41
    Welcome! I'm new as well
    Welcome! I'm new as well and I have found so much helpful information and great support from the BC family. I went through the bilateral with reconstruction just several weeks ago, and I left the hospital with 4 drains hanging from my body. On my first follow-up visit with my Surgeon, he removed the drains from both breasts, and I was so terrified that I closed my eyes like a little kid waiting for an injection. I was just waiting for that moment of pain, and seconds later I hear my Dr telling me that they are already out and if I had felt any pain, but it was completely painless for me.

I wish you the best in your road to recovery, and I hope you have a painless removal of your drains tomorrow! Let us know how it went!
  • TXGAL41

Welcome! I'm new as well