Lost & confused...what happens after chemo?

jo jo
jo jo Member Posts: 1,175
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
This is my first time on this site. I was diagnosed with breast cancer (had mastectomy and lymphnodes removed) I would tell you the medical term for it but i dont remember it (chemo brain). About a month ago i finished my last chemo treatment and up to this point ive been in good spirits and very humorous through the whole thing. Ive had good doctors...very informative...Now im getting frustrated cuz since my last treatment it seems my oncologist couldnt get me out the door fast enough. He basically said take these pills for 5 years (tamoxifen) and see ya in 6 months for a follow up...i was so shocked i didnt say anything.
Im so confused isnt there tests they should be doing to see if the cancer is gone...a PET scan or something...i just dont know what i should be doing at this point (or what my oncologist should be doing at this point)
Needless to say im looking for another oncologist but in the mean time i have alot of questiions and no answers...like all the side affects im having and is it from the chemo or not.
My plastic surgeon and my physical therapist try to answer my questions and they do the best they can but they are not oncologist.
Some of my concerns besides what to expect after chemo are the side effects. I went to the eye doctor last week cuz my vision was blurry, they said it was from the chemo...i had no idea. Nobody told me what to look for or explained any of the side effects. Ive learn more through my other doctors about my cancer than through my oncologist.
Some im still looking for answers like - Im cold most of the time except when i have a hot flash...does anyone else experience this?
Also does anyone have bone pain, like if you move a certain position its like your bone feels like it could break or just very painful?