Sister diagnosed with IBC - How can I help?

PhoenixAnne
PhoenixAnne Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
My sister was just diagnosed with inflammatory breast cancer and is meeting with her doctor to discuss the next steps? There has never been any breast cancer or cancer of any sort in our family, so this is very new to me. I'm not sure what she will need? I am a teacher, so I will be off work for the next 2 months, so I can do what ever is needed? But exactly, what will that be? I'm guessing it will involve taking her to appts. while her husband is working, etc. I know she'll need moral support and she'll be worried about her finances. I guess what I am saying is how can I make this easier for her?

Anne

Comments

• bjmom1
    bjmom1 Member Posts: 152
    How to help
    Frist I am sorry to hear about your sister. The best way to give her support is take good notes at the doctors because she might get overwhelmed and forget some of the things doctors might say. Let her talk about how she feel and just be a good listener. And give her lots of hugs. That what help me get through it. Also anything you might see she may need and do not ask for help like a meal made etc... Remember this broad is a great place you can come for suggestions or just vent. You both are in my prayers.

Barbara
  • meena1
    meena1 Member Posts: 1,003
    I was diagnosed in July,