just found this network so I'm new to this

Penney
Penney Member Posts: 4
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I found this network because I was searching the web to help me with all these feelings of what to do next. My younger sister at 35 dx and was cancer free for 10 years; just got dxed again in other breast, in chemo now. She had the BRACA1 and it's +; so my youngest sister (39) and me (52) just got tested a little less than a week ago. We don't have a strong family history actually my sister is really our only real family hx. (A great grandmother dx supposively at 42 and died in 70's from stomach) Both of my parents are very healthy people mom is 71 and dad is 76.

I'm just struggling with what to do with my results once we get them. Yesterday, my youngest sister (39) and I went to the breast surgeon because GYN found a small nodule last week in my sister's breast. Breast Surgeon said under normal circumstances he would have done needle biospy but since we are awaiting results for BRACA1 he wants to wait to see the results and then he said we will have a discussion.

Between my youngest sister and me we have 4 daughters; and my brother has 1 daughter. My girls are 23 & 20 so I'm really struggling with how to handle my results if positive. I know I'm jumping the gun here but I'm just trying to prepare myself for what may be ahead.

Anyway. . . I'm waiting on these results. . . I'm so grateful that my sister had the test to be able to give us the ability to at least make better decisions with the information.

Comments

• laurissa
    laurissa Member Posts: 773
    Hi Penney
    I wish you and your sisters well. There's alot of waiting and worrying! But we get through it. Hoping for good news for you all. I also have 2 daughters, 17 and 20, and I worry about them too.
  • Penney
    laurissa said:

Hi Penney