mom fighting stage IV cancer- extreme pressure in chest causing sleep loss

Teranb1
Teranb1 Member Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I'm new to this discussion board. My mom has stage four breast cancer with multiple tumors in her chest, but no signs of cancer in any of her vital organs. She has been undergoing chemo treatment since October of last year and just finished radiation on the cancer found in her neck. She's experienced pretty much every symptom related to chemo and it seems to be just getting harder and harder.

Our current concerns are with her weight loss and the extreme pressure she feels in her chest which causes her difficulties breathing. This in turn is causing her sleep depravation. We've consulted her oncologist and several other doctors concerning these symptoms and it seems that their answer is to prescribe stronger pain and sleep medication which doesn't seem to be solving the problem. Some of the stronger pain medications such as oxycoton and oxycodon 10mg is making her feel nauseous and seems to make her feel worse. Even with these pain medications and sleeping medication she is still only sleeping on average 3 or 4 hours a night.

So I guess my questions are many. Does anyone know what could be causing this extreme pressure on her chest? Could it be just the cancer?

Has anyone experienced these conditions and been able to find any relief, anything that could help?

Any suggestions about the sleep loss? she is currently on ambien and it doesnt seem to help.

For her weight loss we've added a high calorie VHC Carnation drink. It seems to be maintaining her weight, but as you can probably guess she has no appetite. She has suggested that she feels the drink may be a cause of this pressure, but I've researched and have found no evidence online of side effects. Has anyone heard anything different than this?