Hand tremor - anyone had success treating with physical therapy or other approach?

steve68
steve68 Member Posts: 9
edited March 2014 in Brain Cancer #1
Hi All,

I am new to this with recently-treated diffuse astrocytoma (radiation, temodar). I have developed a tremor in my left hand which has made typing and other tasks difficult. I understand this is a fairly common symptom. Has anyone had success controlling it? Looking for ideas.

Steve

Comments

• dsharlee
    dsharlee Member Posts: 11
    hand tremor
    Steve, I don't know of any way to control this, but if you find out, let me know!! I have terrible hand tremors and it is extremely bothersome. It is continuous, even during my weeks off the Temodar.

Sorry I can't help, but please know that many of us can relate.

Debbie
  • Vulgarism
    Vulgarism Member Posts: 47
    dsharlee said:

hand tremor
    Steve, I don't know of any way to control this, but if you find out, let me know!! I have terrible hand tremors and it is extremely bothersome. It is continuous, even during my weeks off the Temodar.

Debbie

You know, this actually
    You know, this actually reminded me. I had forgotten all about it, but for a while (I'd say about a week) after one of my chemos I developed a severe tremor in my hand when I was moving it or doing something, for example, I was eating a bowl of cereal, and as I'd lift the spoon, my hand would shake thus drop off all the cereal. I did not have radiation, however. I can only hope that yours will resolve itself on its own as mine did, and is not lasting.
  • the_liz_army
    the_liz_army Member Posts: 39
    Could be a seizure
    Hi Steve,

I also have a low-grade, diffuse astrocytoma and I just finished my 11th month of Temodar. I have not had radiation.

I occasionally have hand tremors but they are seizures due to tumor, not due to the TREATMENT of the tumor. Have you thought about that as a possibility? Seizures are fairly common among low-grade gliomas (like an astrocytoma).