question about rads

mberg
mberg Member Posts: 62
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I will be starting rads in january and am wondering if I am going to have to raise both arms or just the side being radiated? I have a large open wound under my other arm that is taking forever to heal after surgery. I have had 4 subsequent surgeries (revisions) and the surgeons have decided to try and let the tissue heal on its own as long as there is no infection. I am worried about raising that are during radiation and reopening it if it is starting to heal. Any help would be great! thanks!monica

Comments

• aztec45
    aztec45 Member Posts: 757
    Not An Expert
    Hi,

I am not an expert but the way my RADS are going, I only have to raise the arm on the side where they removed the tumor. I would not think they would perform radiation therapy on skin that is open.

P
  • Ritzy
    Ritzy Member Posts: 4,381 Member
    Rads question
    Hi Monica. When I had rads I only raised the one arm on the side where I was being zapped. And, I didn't have to raise it over my head or anything. They had a very comfortable sling like thing that I rested my arm in. Be sure and inform your rads oncologist about this as he needs to know. My techs and my rads oncologist were great! I just love them. I pray that you will yours too. I hope this helps to answer your question.

Sue :)
  • New Flower
    New Flower Member Posts: 4,294
    Ritzy said:

Rads question
    Hi Monica. When I had rads I only raised the one arm on the side where I was being zapped. And, I didn't have to raise it over my head or anything. They had a very comfortable sling like thing that I rested my arm in. Be sure and inform your rads oncologist about this as he needs to know. My techs and my rads oncologist were great! I just love them. I pray that you will yours too. I hope this helps to answer your question.

Sue :)

you do not need to raise your other arm.
    Only arm on the BC side. Sue did explained it very well