chemo and H1N1 VACCINE

sheri22
sheri22 Member Posts: 273
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Does anyone have any opnions on getting this vaccine while doing chemo,
I have thought about it I have never gotten the flu shot befor but this one seems pretty serious, my blood counts are all good and I work in nursing home, so have been around a lot
of flus over the years but havent gotten it from work, this vaccine is so new to me
Yes I have talked to my oncologist about this. But he isnt getting the chemo. so any imput from anyone would be appreciated.
sorry if . this posted twice my computer needs some work
sheri22

Comments

• Janet3
    Janet3 Member Posts: 59
    H1N1
    My mom's onc recommended she NOT get the H1N1 vaccine. She just got round 8 of Folfox w/Avastin yesterday. She did receive a seasonal flue shot and a pneumovax. The onc also receommended that I (as my mom's caretaker) NOT get the H1N1 vaccine. That being said, I am a nurse at a military hospital and the policy of the hospital is that any and all high risk persons should get the H1N1 vaccine. Our policy includes chemo patients. We have administered it to several chemo patients and I have asked them to report back to me with any reactions, etc for work and personal reasons. Sorry this isn't very helpful.
    Janet
  • Shayenne
    Shayenne Member Posts: 2,342
    Janet3 said:

H1N1
    My mom's onc recommended she NOT get the H1N1 vaccine. She just got round 8 of Folfox w/Avastin yesterday. She did receive a seasonal flue shot and a pneumovax. The onc also receommended that I (as my mom's caretaker) NOT get the H1N1 vaccine. That being said, I am a nurse at a military hospital and the policy of the hospital is that any and all high risk persons should get the H1N1 vaccine. Our policy includes chemo patients. We have administered it to several chemo patients and I have asked them to report back to me with any reactions, etc for work and personal reasons. Sorry this isn't very helpful.
    Janet