Help! Newbie here.

Goldenguru
Goldenguru Member Posts: 23
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hello. I am so encouraged to have found your discussion board. I could really use some encouragement and support.

I am 46 and was dxed w/ stage 2 breast cancer in August. After a bi-lateral mastectomy (a choice I made over the offered lumpectomy) I began my adriamyocin and cytoxin chemo treatments every two weeks. I have completed 3 - have one left to go. Then I will have 12 weekly treatments of taxol.

Each treatment is leaving me more and more drained physically and emotionally. I have cried a good portion of today - because I'm sort of sick and tired of being sick and tired. :/ Thankfully - I've had NO nausea and vomiting - but lots of other insidious side effects.

I am looking for any (any all) encouragement/wisdom/knowledge that got you all through the insanity called chemotherapy. And when I'm around this bend - I hope to be able to offer encouragement to others just starting out on their journey.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• chenheart
    chenheart Member Posts: 5,159
    Welcome to the club you
    Welcome to the club you never wanted to join...you will find yourself in good company, surrounded by Kindred Spirits who are in various stages of walking the path you now find yourself on.

Let me say that what you have described is SOOOO normal! The emotional and physical side effects of the Beast Killing Drugs affect most, if not all of us just as you have described them. The cumulative exhaustion of course is physically debilitating, the emotional which is coupled with it can be even more so. Many of the Sisters In Pink here have taken anti-depressants...this is definately classified many times as "situational depression", and rightly so!