New Member Introduction

amyboston
amyboston Member Posts: 91
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
I was diagnosed on Oct 5 with Stage IIB cancer of the Sigmoid Colon. I live in
Boston and am 62 years old. I am an artist. I was having symptoms for a few months before the colonoscopy. The doctor said if I waited another six months it would be inoperable.

This is all new to me. And I have been bouncing around emotionally for the past
two weeks. At first I was angry, then weepy and sad, and then tiredness sets in and
I feel depressed. I feel as though I am on a rollor coaster emotionally.

Anyway, I am new to the discussion board and hope to both contribute and get something
out of the discussion.

God Bless,
Amy

Comments

• 2bhealed
    2bhealed Member Posts: 2,064 Member
    Welcome
    Hi Amy,

Sorry about your diagnosis but glad you seemed to catch it before it got worse. Have you had your surgery already? Is there a plan of action for your treatment, if any?

Mine was Stage III lymph pos/zero mets in my sigmoid colon also. I had 13 inches of colon removed and then because of the lymph involvement, adjuvant chemo of 5-FU and leucovorin was prescribed to "mop up" any renegade cancer cells. I opted to not do any chemo but to follow Easter Medicine & dietary modalities of curing cancer instead after watching my sister go through end stage cancer of her small intestine when she was in her early 30's. I was 39 when I was dx'ed and my sister was 30 when she was dx'ed. No prior family history. I have remained cancer free for over 8 years now!! Yea! It's been quite a journey.

Many of us on here can completely relate to running the gamut of emotions post dx that you're experiencing. This is a great place to vent those emotions--especially if/when you find that those around you just aren't "getting it" and that can be utterly frustrating.