What should I expect ?

wv_armyguy
wv_armyguy Member Posts: 4
edited March 2014 in Skin Cancer #1
Just wondering what I should expect to happen. I am a recent iraq veteran, I had 2 moles removed from my back about 3 weeks ago, one was described as atypical with further removal recommended, the other biopsy report was superficial spreading melanoma clark level iv, .90MM. my insurance is changing this month, as I am back on active duty, so I have been struggling to get authorization to see a surgeon, hopefully that will be worked out in the next few days, but should I try to see an oncologist also? I just saw my new family physican today and he identified 14 other suspicous moles that he said needed to be removed asap. dont know if that could be accomplished at the same time yet.should I expect to have the sentinal lymp node removal also or is this not bad enough for that? new to all of this so those with experience I welcome any input as this is a shock to me and my wife. thanks

Comments

• beacon
    beacon Member Posts: 77
    bump...
    hopefully someone

bump...

hopefully someone can answer some questions for you...

wishing you luck.
  • djblank6
    djblank6 Member Posts: 3
    First, Thank you for your service! I am in the Louisiana National Guard and was diagnosed with a stage 4 melanoma that spread to 2 lymph nodes. I am not sure if I am in the same boat as you, I work agr, but because of the distance to any medical facalities I use civillian doctors. my primary care discovered the melanoma and within a week I was referred to a general surgeon who removed the mole and did the sentinal lymph node biopsy. 2 nodes came back positive. I had to wait three weeks to heal from the first surgery before going back to have more lymph nodes removed. all were tested and all were negative for melanoma. I was then put on 52 weeks of interferon. thankfully I have been clear since. I have a pet/cat scan next month and hopefully it will come back clear as well.