WHY ARE THERE NO EVENTS FOR PROSTATE CANCER LIKE BREAST CANCER(walk or runs)

PLW2ND
PLW2ND Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Prostate Cancer #1
IAM 43yrs and I can not find any support groups for young men such as myself. I have been fighting for 2yrs now and notice that Prostate Cancer does not get as much pub as Breast Cancer. This is my first time on this site and i had alot of things on my mind. I have been looking for Prosate Cancer runs or walk in my area also can anyone let me know of a support gruop for men in there 40s. Sometimes it is easyer to talk to someone in your age group. Can anybody help me with this.

Thanks Preston

Comments

• lewvino
    lewvino Member Posts: 1,010
    Preston,
    Sorry to hear about

Preston,
    Sorry to hear about your cancer. I'm 55 and just had my Davinci surgery back in August 2009.
    I also searched for support groups. It saddens me when I read of men even younger then I am that are facing this Battle with prostate cancer.
    September was Prostate cancer awareness month but you didn't hear much about it like you do breast cancer. The closest large town to where I lived did have a prostate walk to raise money but I didn't know about it till AFTER the walk!
    Finding support groups is difficult. Try calling different hospitals in your area or even ask your urologist if he/she knows of any. I had a hard time finding a support group but finally did. But I'm the youngest one in the support group at 55! I would suggest going to www.healingwell.com on the web. They have a very active online support group and ask your question there.
    If you ever want to talk offline shoot me an email at lewvino@yahoo.com

Larry
  • lshick
    lshick Member Posts: 62
    Support groups
    The largest network of local support group chapters that I know of is UsToo:

http://ustoo.com/Chapter_NearYou.asp?country1=United States

Good luck.

The other Larry
  • NM
    NM Member Posts: 214
    52 yrs old