New Plan

Mike49
Mike49 Member Posts: 261
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Returned from Mayo today, new plan is FOLFIRI + Cetuximab. What can my friends tell me about either Irinotecan or cetuximab. I know there is a rash, and I thought I read something about a topical treatment for the rash.

Comments

• tootsie1
    tootsie1 Member Posts: 5,044 Member
    A plan is good
    I can't answer your questions, but I'm glad you have a plan. Hope it works beautifully for you!

*hugs*
    Gail
  • Kathleen808
    Kathleen808 Member Posts: 2,342 Member
    Yes, a plan
    Mike,
    So glad to hear about your plan. Wonderful that you will be moving in the right direction with good docs.

Aloha,
    Kathleen
  • robinvan
    robinvan Member Posts: 1,012
    Hi Mike
    I have no experience with cetuximab (where DO they come up with these names anyways!) But I've had Irenotecan twice. Once in Fall 2004 with the FOLFIRI mix and once again in 2007 with Xeloda (oral 5FU) and Avastin.

Worst affects for me were diarhea. I received an injection of Atropine pre-infusion to prevent what is known as "early diarhea" and then just went with the mega imodium doses the cancer clinic recommended afterwards. Strangely... I lost my hair on the 2nd go round with it. Not in the FOLFIRI mix. Thus the cute "cancer warrior" picture to the left!

All the very best as you embark on this new plan!

Rob; in Vancouver
  • dianetavegia
    dianetavegia Member Posts: 1,942 Member
    Cetuximab is Erbitux
    Erbitux is also known as Cetuximab.

Lisa took some meds for the rash. I'm sure she'll jump in when her side of the world is more awake. I'm a lazy bum this a.m. myself. :o)

Glad for the plan, Mike!
  • lisa42
    lisa42 Member Posts: 3,625 Member
    Erbitux/cetuximab
    Hi Mike,

Here I am "jumping in", as Diane said. :)