reconstruction woes

sophy
sophy Member Posts: 22
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi everyone, I was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer in 08. I am now free and clear of cancer. I had a right breast masectomy, with chemo and radiation, finished them 11 months ago. Have decided to have reconstruction and also have my left breast done at the same time.I have a history of breast cancer in my family, so the decision for me is a good one. I met with my plastic surgeon before my masectomy and will now be meeting with her to discuss again what type of reconstruction would be best for me. She had discussed the trams flap procedures to me back then, I feel so good now that I am afraid of the long recovery that could follow these procedures. Could someone give me some in put on this? I am new to this sight, I did not have a computer when I was going through my cancer, wish i had, so I could have met people like those I have seen so far...jean

Comments

• dbs1673
    dbs1673 Member Posts: 203
    ask away
    Hi Sophy. First congrats on getting to this point of your journey. I had bilat mast in June -08 and had expanders put in at that time. I ended up needing radiation and had the implants put in in April. I had some rippling issues and just had them redone a month ago. I'm very happy with the results. There are many things you will consider. Your body type will help determine if some of the other proceedures are options for you. I'm small built and the implants really were my best option. Surgically speaking, I felt it was the least invasive and the recovery time was minimal. Some however do not like the idea of having a foreign body and prefer to utilize what their own body can provide. I have no regrets about my decision. Now I'm wondering about the nipples and tatoos???? This is a long journey but we are glad to have you as a traveling companion...welcome.

dawn
  • New Flower
    New Flower Member Posts: 4,294
    dbs1673 said:

ask away