Getting just Fluorouracil and Leucovorin for stage IIA

CessnaFlyer
CessnaFlyer Member Posts: 110
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Sorry if I’m asking too many questions. I’m new to all this and after I ask one question I think of something else. Anyway here’s the first question I started treatment on Thursday, which consist of just Fluorouracil and Leucovorin for once a week for six weeks and then two weeks off and then we do it again for a total of four cycles, or for 32 weeks. I have stage IIA colon cancer. Don’t want to second guess the doctor but want to make sure this is the right treatment. I’ve heard that some get Oxaliplatin also, but I’m not getting that.

Comments

• Patteee
    Patteee Member Posts: 945
    good question :)
    and I don't

good question :)

and I don't know. :)

the way my doctor has described it has been, it depends on the staging of the cancer. Mine was 3- and pretty much the standard, across the board for stage 3 is 5FU, oxil and leucovorin. Every 2 weeks for 6 months.

stage 4 they are looking at longer term so usually the above and then others as needed.

stage 1, is nothing.

stage 2 where you are at- and stage 2A to boot- I have seen some variety in the treatment, I know of some who don't even get chemo. I know my doctor in explaining it before I was staged said that evidence was pointing to even stage 2 benefiting from chemo. A friend of a friend was dx'd 2A over a year ago- and her oncologist let her chose- she went on oral chemo, took it two times and didn't like the side affects, so she quit,with her oncologist support. I haven't heard of weekly, then a break, then weekly for a total of 32 weeks. But ya know, why not? 5FU has a long history in treating colon cancer- and maybe you are on weekly cause you aren't on oxil? Oxil is the one that kicks buttocks, one couldn't have chemo weekly if it involved that.